thanks for being there

Do you have a mentor? Tell us about him or her. Are you a mentor to someone else? Tell us what that relationship has added to your life.

It’s really interesting when I read the well-wishes from friends on Facebook 2 weeks ago. The interesting posts were written by my ex-students whom I used to work with when I was working as a Christian Ministry Staff in my alma mater.

Sharon C. “Happy birthday Ms Yuen!! Thank you for being such a blessing in my life during one of the lowest points in my life so far 5 years ago. You have been such an inspiration to me by giving God the best years of your life to do His work. May you have a great birthday this year knowing that you’re inspiring others with whatever you’re doing!!”

Jessica K. “Thank you for being there in my secondary school days”

Although it’s not a whole bunch of people, but it makes me think “why is it that they remember that specific time after so long”? It has been 3 years since I left working with them. I don’t know what kind of qualities I had, but I do know that my goal and belief was that “I want to be a friend/sister/mentor to these girls, that they do not have to turn to their peers/friends for advice but know that there’s someone who’s older and who believes in them and wants to bring out the best in them” So, then I started the Christian Fellowship, where I met regularly to disciple them and pray with them. And also availing my office for them to hang out and talk about their problems in a non-threatening manner.

Do I have a mentor? That’s a hard question. I always wanted to find a mentor, and there are people in my life whom I looked up to and sought advice from, but I don’t necessary will call them my mentor. I feel like I was always trying to find people to mentor me, but there wasn’t anyone available or suitable. Only last year, that I have finally stopped trying to find a mentor. I still learn from people who are more experienced than me, but I don’t seek out a person who will notice the great in me and want to develop that further. I realised that I’m the only one who can develop the great in me (if I want to).

Last year, I did a Life Coach Training. I have a coach to coach me and I have learnt also to coach others. I discovered that it was very helpful, because a coach/mentor doesn’t have to have all the answers, they just have to ask the right questions and drawing out the potentials and reining in the decisions to make things happen.

I enjoy developing people and seeing them reach their potentials when they or others can’t see it happen.

Leave a Reply

