char siew (barbecue roast pork)

Growing up, I only eat the char siew that my grandma makes. If she bought it from the foodstalls, I would know, and I would NOT touch it. The ones she makes is always juicy and tender, the color is appealing, not like some that are falsely red and tough.

I have/NEED to call my grandma and ask for her secret recipe. And try to replicate just like hers.

But so far, the ones that I made have been de-li-cious!

Using Rasa Malaysia’s recipe as a base and tweaking it to what I have on hand.

I use Lee Kum Kee’s Char Siew sauce + oyster sauce + soy sauce + white pepper + five-spice powder + sesame oil.

Marinating the pork with garlic and the sauce overnight.

Roasting it in the oven at 375°F for 1 hour, with 15 minutes interval, turning the pork and brushing the sauce over the meat each interval.

Remember to wrap the baking tray with aluminum foil, this saves lots of washing troubles!

There are many wonderful things of making char siew. One is that the aroma of the char siew fills the house after roasting! Another is that I like to make 1-1.5lb of them, slice them into pieces and pack them into baggies and freeze them. Later, I’ll use them for my Wanton Noodles, or just add them to any regular noodles quick fixes.

Leave a Reply

