help, I’m addicted to my macaroons

Even though they don’t look great. They are actually quite addicitive. Have one and you can’t stop. But I had to, as I’m still nursing the sinus flu..

20131026-191643.jpg

It’s my 2nd time trying to make macaroons. The first time was a complete flop. I didn’t even whip the egg whites to a foam! They were wet and useless.

This time, i did whip the egg whites to a pulp, I mean foam, measuring everything out nicely. I didn’t have a kitchen scale so I borrowed our office’s shipping scale. Well, a scale is a scale is a scale.

The messy part was when I tried to pipe the batter. It didn’t come out from the tip, but the top of the bag! Dang!

Only 2 halfs out of 20 came out the way it should be. The rest cracked.

I found that a couple of things could cause macaroons to crack – oven being too hot, tapping the tray to release the air would prevent them from cracking.

I’ll not give up! I’ll try again and master it someday. To becoming MasterChef!!!

Leave a Reply

