I’ve been thinking of what my grandma usually makes for dinner. There’s one dish that she puts all the ingredients in the rice cooker and it was done in no time, but I can’t remember the name of it.

Anyway, I’m glad I chanced upon Rasa Malaysia’s post about this Claypot Chicken Rice without claypot! It was so easy except making sure there’s enough time to marinate the chicken.

I started to defrost the chicken on the counter at 11am, but it wasn’t fully thaw at 3pm. And we decided to go out to get our free Starbucks, by the time we got back, it was 5pm and I was rushing through the marination. I only marinated the chicken for 30 minutes but I think it was good enough. The end result was that it smelled great and tasted great too!

I made some variations to the recipe suited to what I have on hand.

Ingredients:
2 cups rice
2 skinless chicken thighs [I actually didn't mind the skin, but took them off anyway due to the chunk of fats]
1 stalk scallion (chopped) [I had scallions that were frozen!]
3 inches ginger (peel the skin and chop into thin strips)
Dried scallops (soak in warm water for 10 minutes)

Seasoning for chicken:
2 tablespoons oyster sauce
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1/4 teaspoon chicken boullion powder
1/2 teaspoon corn starch
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
5 dashes white pepper powder
1/4 teaspoon sugar
1 tablespoon Shaoxing cooking wine (or rice wine)

Seasoning for rice:
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1/2 tablespoon dark soy sauce
2 teaspoons cooking oil
1 pinch of salt

Method:
Chop the chicken thighs into pieces.
Add the chicken seasoning and mix well. Marinate for an hour in the fridge.
Rinse and clean the rice in a rice cooker as if you are making steamed rice after the chicken is marinated for an hour.
Add in a little lesser the amount of water that you will normally use for making rice, the rice seasoning and cooking oil into the rice and start cooking the rice.
While the rice is cooking, heat up a wok with some cooking oil. Add in the chicken.
Quickly stir-fry the chicken until half-cooked. Add in the chopped scallions. Dish out and set aside.
Add the chicken into the rice cooker when the rice is almost dry (about 7-8 minutes) and continue to cook till rice is completely cooked.
Leave the rice cooker on “Stay Warm” for 15–20 mintues before serving.

